Monday, May 19, 2008


The Union Jack, above, is part of the official national flags of four countries -- Australia, New Zealand, Tuvalu and Fiji.

It is also part of the official flag of Hawaii.Oddly enough, the union jack is not the national flag of the United Kingdom, it has none. The union jack is officially a flag of the Queen, rather than of the country.

The red cross is the English flag (see below). It is called the Cross of St. George.

The white saltire is the Scottish national flag. It is the Cross of St. Andrew.

The red saltire is supposed to be the Cross of St. Patrick and represents Ireland. There is little or no historical basis connecting the symbol with either St. Patrick or Ireland.

The Welsh just get screwed.


Anonymous said...

I guess it's payback for the Hawaiians killing off Captain James Cook!

David Amulet said...

I'm glad the Brits didn't also take over Japan, because a big red dot in the middle of this would be overwhelming.